The home of Shooting Times and Sporting Gun

BASC council candidate – Martyn Jones

Shooting Times talks to BASC council candidate Martyn Jones

Martyn Jones, aged 68, is a retired MP and biologist. He lives in the Welsh hills. He is standing for one of five contested seats in this year’s BASC council elections.

What is your shooting and conservation background?

Shooting from the age of 13, conserving from the age of 30 or so.

What will you do for BASC and for shooting?

I will try and protect shooting, all the disciplines, from the antis, and help promote shooting as a sport for all. It is vitally important in an election year.

What skills in your working life would you bring to BASC?

Thirty years of learning what political buttons to press to achieve the desired result.

How would you improve BASC?

I would help the committees to be more effective and encourage new shooters in all aspects of the sports.

What bad practices in shooting would you tackle?

All of them!

Do you think support for all field sports is necessary for a member of BASC council?


How would you encourage new people into the sport and new members to join BASC?

Get all clubs and organisations to hold open days and continue the displays and experiences put on at shows but not limited to country shows; they should be at all appropriate venues.

What’s your idea of a perfect shooting/sporting day?

The Jersey Supershot Challenge, which is a fund-raising day that also promotes shooting. It is run by the various clubs in Jersey, has seven different disciplines, including clays and archery, and is a fabulous, fun day out.

What’s your favourite game dish?

Venison burgers.

The 12 candidates standing for the five contested BASC council places are as follows:

Alisdair Troup

Nicholas Powell

Prof. Ann M. Mortimer

Simon Kibble

Sarah Turner

Peter Pursglove

Daryn Hufton-Rees

Neil Chalmers

Sally-Anne Cockerill

Allen Musselwhite

John Dryden

Martyn David Jones

In the Northern Irish and Welsh council seats, for which there will be no ballot, the new council members will be Oliver McCullough (Northern Ireland) Jonathan Garton (Wales).

Profiles of those standing will also be sent to BASC members in the March/April issue of the members’ magazine, along with voting forms. The results will be announced at the organisation’s AGM in June.

For more information about the 2015 elections and BASC council, click here.