The home of Shooting Times and Sporting Gun

Abbey Ling named Clay Shooter of the Year

Abbey Ling took the Clay Shooter of the Year title at this weekend's Clay Pigeon Shooting Association Awards, an honour she now shares with her husband.

Abbey Ling was voted Clay Shooter of the Year at the Clay Pigeon Shooting Association (CPSA) Awards, held at The Belfry Hotel & Resort this weekend (Saturday, 3 February).

After winning the World and European Championships as well as the English, British and UK titles in Universal Trench in 2017, Abbey joins her husband, Ed, in receiving the CPSA title, as he received the same honour at the awards last year.

The annual awards celebrate outstanding achievement in and contribution to clay target shooting.

Abbey Ling, Ed Ling, daughter Amy, Steve Ling and Theo Ling.

Under the Ling wing

“Thank you to everyone who has voted for me,” said Abbey after receiving the title. “I wasn’t expecting to win the award – this one’s for the girls!”

“I must mention my grandad who first got me into the sport and continuing on from him the Ling family, who have taken me under their wing.”

There were 10 awards presented at the event, which was hosted by comedian Jarred Christmas, with all the winners and nominees voted for the CPSA members.

Leah Southall picked up the new Emerging Shooter of the Year award, which was introduced this year to recognise a shooter of any age or discipline, who is starting to show exceptional talent.

Lucy Hall received the Young Shot of the Year award, while Alec Sperling was named Disabled Shooter of the Year following his Sitting Team Gold in Olympic Trap at the World Shooting Para Sport World Cup.

John Bellamy won the Coach of the Year award, commenting, “When I ceased competitive clay target shooting I never thought that my coaching path would lead me to winning this award.” 

Kevin Howarth’s family collected the Volunteer of the Year award on his behalf

The British Shooting Talent Pathway was voted Development Initiative of the Year and Cheshire took the County Committee crown for the second year running. 

Kevin Howarth was a key figure on the Cheshire committee and was posthumously named Volunteer of the Year for 2017, with his wife Karen receiving the award on his behalf.

The British Open at West Midlands Shooting Ground was recognised as the best shoot of 2017, with owners Tom and Debra Jones collecting the Ground of the Year accolade.

Special contribution

Well-known DTL shooter Paul Chaplow received the Special Contribution Award, which acknowledged his service to the Association, the North of England regional committee and to his country, having shot for the England DTL team for the past 14 years.

CPSA chief executive Nick Fellows said, “I would like to congratulate all the award winners who have been voted for by CPSA members, to be recognised by your peers is a great accolade. We’re delighted to see so many people acknowledged and honoured here tonight in what has been a fantastic celebration of all that is good in our sport.”

He added: “Following the success of the awards dinner last year, it was an easy decision to return to The Belfry, but I think we have managed to further grow the event from 2017. “I would also like to thank our sponsors for their support in helping to change how we recognise the many achievements of our members and for contributing to the success of the awards.”