The home of Shooting Times and Sporting Gun

The Olympic Shooting Events!

There will be 15 Shooting Medal events.
There will be 390 Athletes competing in total.

The psychologically demanding sport of shooting has been participated in all over the world for hundreds of years – practically since firearms were first invented.

During the Beijing Olympic Games, marksmen and women from over 100 countries took part in the shooting competitions.

Olympic Shooting events include three types: Shotgun, Rifle and Pistol.

In Shotgun shooting events, competitors shoot at disc-shaped clay pigeon targets, which are launched from spring loaded ?traps?. The targets are fired from different angles in front of them.

There are two stages in the five Shotgun events, with the scores from the qualification and final stages added together to determine the competitors rankings.

In Pistol and Rifle events, shooters fire at a target from set distances of 10m, 25m or 50m.

In the five Pistol events and the five Rifle events, shooters take part in two rounds, the qualification and the final.

The scores in each round are added together to give a total score, which determines which teams or individuals win the gold, silver and bronze medals.

With the exceptions of the 1904 and 1928 Games, Shooting has featured on every Olympic programme since the first modern Games in 1896.

Women?s events were added to the schedule in 1984.

At London 2012, the Shooting competition will be held at a truly historic venue: The Royal Artillery Barracks.

The current building was constructed between 1775 and 1802.

Find details of all the shooting clubs and facilities in your local area by visiting these websites:

Most counties and regions have a multitude of game and clay shoots ? with most clay shooting grounds allowing you to turn up and have a go.

For the FULL facts on shooting sports visit here:
Shooting Sports